UAMS Psychiatric Research Institute describes FDA-approved treatments for depression and bipolar disorder for people not improved by antidepressants or psychotherapy.
UAMS program description
According to the UAMS Psychiatric Research Institute, its Interventional Psychiatry program page describes FDA-approved treatments for depression and bipolar disorder. The source says these treatments are intended for patients who have not improved with antidepressants or psychotherapy. The page’s description focuses on interventional psychiatry options rather than providing a general overview of depression or bipolar disorder care.
UAMS identifies depression and bipolar disorder as the conditions addressed in the program-page description. The source also identifies antidepressants and psychotherapy as treatments that patients may have tried without improvement before being considered for the options described on the page.
Treatments named on the page
The UAMS Psychiatric Research Institute names the SAINT neuromodulation system and electroconvulsive therapy among the treatments described by its Interventional Psychiatry program page. The source characterizes the treatments listed in its description as FDA-approved.
The supplied extract does not provide further details about the SAINT neuromodulation system or electroconvulsive therapy. It does not describe treatment schedules, referral steps, eligibility criteria, insurance coverage, costs, or individual treatment outcomes.
What the source does and does not say
The UAMS description connects its listed treatment options with people whose symptoms have not improved with antidepressants or psychotherapy. It does not state that every person with depression or bipolar disorder would receive the same treatment, or that either named option is appropriate for every patient.
The extract also does not compare the SAINT neuromodulation system and electroconvulsive therapy with one another. It does not state how patients are evaluated, how treatment decisions are made, or whether the options are available to all patients seeking care.
What this means for Arkansas patients
For Arkansas residents looking for treatment locally, the directory lists 32 published clinics in Arkansas. The UAMS Psychiatric Research Institute’s page indicates that interventional psychiatry options may be discussed for some people with depression or bipolar disorder who have not improved with antidepressants or psychotherapy. Local listings can help patients identify treatment locations and ask providers whether services described by a source are offered.
This is general information, not medical advice.
More Arkansas reporting on treatment updates.
This report is educational and is not medical advice. Coverage, availability and eligibility can change; verify details with the named source or your care team.

